Karma

Over my years in staffing and recruiting, I’ve had a knack for knowing right away whether or not any given candidate can find a home with one of my clients. Likewise, if I felt that the person was better suited to seek employment elsewhere, I was honest and open with the person. I would make suggestions, encourage them to apply with companies even if they were not connected to my agency, and tell the person that I am happy to help when and where I can, even as a reference. I’m honest and open, direct and to the point. At the same time, I knew if a candidate was the right fit, and could often send someone right to a client site to interview…provide contact information, directions to the client site, and wish them well knowing in my heart that I had just begun a new career for that candidate.
My question, having interviewed in my new area, is why am I not extended this same courtesy? I’m not mad, I understand the process, I know the steps involved, but cmon…I just moved here, am the mother of two boys, know my skill set and how to sell it…if I’m not a fit, just say so! I’m a big girl, I can handle it!!
Part of me wonders if this is Karma somehow…having been on the other side of the desk so long, watching people fidget nervously as I casually asked questions. Did part of my mind slip into that mode of “Hey thanks for stopping by?” Did I come off as a jerk instead of as someone who genuinely wants to help people? And if I did…that makes me sad to think anyone ever got that impression from me. I don’t know…just frustrated…sorry to kind of rant. Here’s hoping that all the good I did will come back around and help me this time, somehow, anywhere, locally!
Thanks for listening!

Leave a Reply

