End of each day

At the end of each day, I think to myself, where can I go today, what can I do and where can I explore. Despite my best efforts to visit a botanical garden, visit a park, hike outside, or whatever, my heart and truck take me to the beach. Granted, the convenience of the beach beats all the other locations, but I think it is ultimately just a sign that the beach is where I’m supposed to be.
In the three months that I have lived in Wilmington, I am drawn repeatedly to the sands and water of the coastal NC line. For whatever reason, it’s as if a magnet draws my soul and takes me along with it…the sound of the surf, the sand sliding beneath my shoes, the birds strolling the beaches, the shells both big and small collecting along the water line. There are not words to describe the sense of inner peace I feel.
It sounds a little silly, I know, inner peace on the beach. But have you wondered why computer screen savers are tropical, why sunny days seem less desperate, why the sound of water puts you to sleep, and why the smell of salt water as you approach the beach makes that long miserable line to get in not seem so bad? It’s all connected…you, me, nature! So is it any wonder that my sense of balance seems most even keeled near the ocean? I’m one of those people that approach a beach, breathes in the salt air, then plops down in the sand or finds an empty lifeguard stand to sit up in. I close my eyes, listen to the sounds, take in the salt air, and relax…my body relaxes and my soul is revived. Even in winter, I can wander a beach and despite being cold, leave feeling completely rejuvenated.

What I decided though is that since I cannot be at the beach all the time (sadly, my “ship” has not come in as of yet nor have I hit Powerball) that I would begin taking pictures to tide me over (no pun intended) until I’m once again at the water’s edge. My favorite part of the beach, aside from the water and sand, is the shells…big, small, any color or shape or size. Beautiful and amazing in that nature has created such art then pushed it along a current, dropped it off at our beaches, and left them for us all as gifts. Beachcombing…by far a favorite activity.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “End of each day

  1. The Laws Roll and Ramble March 15, 2012 at 6:06 PM Reply

    YES,,, beachcombing can be so much fun.

    • kathylynnbentz March 15, 2012 at 6:09 PM Reply

      Yes…its an activity I have loved since I was a child. And minus the occasional smelly crab, I found some really cool things!

    • kathylynnbentz March 16, 2012 at 9:53 PM Reply

      It sounds like you two are on quite the journey…what inspired this if you don’t mind me asking?

      • The Laws Roll and Ramble March 29, 2012 at 8:41 PM

        Well, we wanted to stop the rat race. Life is far to short to be caught up in the never ending pursuit of the so called material ‘happiness”. We want to spend more time with our children and grandchildren and to spend more time together and see some country 🙂

    • kathylynnbentz April 24, 2012 at 4:49 PM Reply

      Its been a while since I’ve been online but wanted to touch base and see how the adventurers are faring? Where are you now…latest major adventure? Hoping you are both well and still loving the ride…wishing you both positive thoughts and vibes! — Kathy 🙂

Leave a Reply

