Margaritas, fireworks and moonlight

Wilmington is proving to be almost what I thought it would be. Last night, I went with my husband to Carolina Beach, a cool 5 miles from my house. When I got there I expected to take a nice leisurely stroll along the water, pick up a few shells like always, and walk back. Instead what i found was that a huge community gathering was happening…there was live music at the gazebo, the carnival was in full swing, tons of people were gathered at and strolling around the boardwalk, there would be fireworks at 9:02pm (want to be exact as we had a silly conversation with the gate guard about it), and of course, I went and had a margarita! Not a bad night in my book. A big shout out to Hurricane Alleys…https://www.facebook.com/HurricaneAlleysCB.

After seeing the people and taking in some tunes, we had our drinks then mosied on down to the beach for fireworks. I have NEVER been quite that close to a fireworks display…and looking up into the starbursts from the beach has to be one of the coolest things I have ever seen. You bet I will be back there next Thursday, having had a margarita and this time, with camera in hand. My camera batteries are dead…need to get to the store SOON!

It was a simple night…and the walk back to our truck was fantastic. The moon danced beautifully over the ocean, the sand was still slightly warm, and I reveled at how nice the evening had turned out. I’ve come to conclude that despite feeling broke very often, wishing just once I could shop to my heart’s content, buy ridiculously expensive and pallet pleasing foods, drive a newer shinier vehicle, and throw money to my boys the way I would like, I can still enjoy simple moments and pleasures like this. The colors and booms of fireworks never cease to amaze me, no matter how old I get; a perfectly made margarita always tastes better when I’m close to the beach; the warm sand and moon lit beaches still take my breath away. No money or car or new clothes required, or at least not much…

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Margaritas, fireworks and moonlight

  1. kathylynnbentz June 1, 2012 at 2:31 PM Reply

    Thank you Ms. Carolee 🙂

Leave a Reply

