The Rolling Stone

As a parent, I have been blessed with exceptionally healthy children. I never went through the ear infections, sore throats, pneumonia, etc that several of my friend’s children suffered. We had chicken pox when my boys were very small and if they had 50 between them, it would be a high estimate.

Being that they are boys, we have had stitches for one, a broken arm for the other. However, neither of those is a sign of being unhealthy or their bodies rebelling, fighting off viruses.

Monday night, while driving home, I received a phone call indicating my 19 year old son was in excruciating pain, doubled over on the couch. He needed to go to the hospital…mind you, this kiddo is tough, never complains about pain…and it was his voice asking how soon I would be home to take him to see a doctor. I was scared and very unnerved!

A few hours, after blood & urine tests, an xray and sonogram, we learned that he has kidney stones. KIDNEY STONES…old men get those. M is 19, how can that be? My healthy son…how can this be happening?

Here’s how: he’s dehydrated almost all the time, as are many kids his own age. He is not alone in this as his best friends have all had kidney stones…I was shocked because again, to me, old men get this. M consumes Mt Dew by the gallon, eats well most of the time but is an avid snacker, rarely drinks juice or water, and is a fan of party beverages. While he stays “hydrated” with his sodas, it’s dehydrating his body and causing an immense intake of salts and sugars. That’s my current theory…I have much research to complete.

Here’s what I learned…M doesn’t consume enough water or juices, and thus as of Monday has been drinking OJ and water pretty much nonstop. There are diets to help prevent kidney stones from developing. Kidney stones run on Both sides of my family so we are prone to get them. While my mother and I have not had them, at least not so far in our lives, it doesn’t mean that my kids are out of the woods. And finally, the “party” lifestyle my son has been involved with must slow down in a major way – and my son is in total agreement. The plus side…we all can eat and drink more healthy selections thus decreasing the chance of more kidney stones.

This has been the wakeup call from hell for him, causing much pain and genuine distress and anxiety…ironically, the solution is, we wait. As a fixer, waiting does not fit into my schedule or approach and resolution plan…yet, we wait. As a mother, I just want this ordeal to be over for my son…yet, we wait. Hmmm….and we wait!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

