When you know the notes to sing……

In my pre-marriage pre-mama life, music played a huge and crucial role in my life. I spent hours in band, chorus, jazz band, pep band. I spent weeks at music camps and attending various festivals. I even auditioned for an all-state band and was selected amongst my many peers…of course I played the French Horn so I kind of had a leg up, but chosen just the same!! I had many friends within my musical circles, locally and regionally and state wide. I had college professors who spoke my language of flats and sharps and treble and bass.

In today’s life, music is not as strong an influence. Not that I don’t sing at the top of my lungs when a favorite song is on the radio, or that I don’t have CD’s of musicals in my car that blast over my sound system. But I don’t get out to shows and festivals and performances the way I used to, never mind being a performer in said events. My house is dominated by my husband and two teenage boys…none of whom are musical, none of whom play instruments, none of whom would lower themselves to be part of a chorus or band. It’s very sad for me…but thankfully my niece got our musical gene so I can live vicariously through her. (Genes – our uncle played with Glen Miller, an aunt went to Julliard, we grew up surrounded by musically gifted people!)

Last night, however, I hiked some risky terrain in my house and watched the Carrie Underwood version of the Sound of Music. While she is no Julie Andrews, I refused to change the channel for three hours. I sang along with the show, experienced an old emotion charged by music and acting that has long been dormant, smiled when the live cameras panned to wandering stage hands behind false windows, and thoroughly enjoyed being in the moment. The moment where my heart was momentarily full of a lost love, feeling a flush of emotions as voices and instruments soared.

I didn’t allow the normal changing of channels during commercials as I did not want to miss a second. I kept the remote…let me say that again…I Kept The Remote and refused to part with it until the musical performance was over. That is sacrilegious in my household…but, I broke tradition, laid down a gauntlet, and dared anyone to pull the remote from my grasp! It didn’t happen!

So there it is! I told a co-writer today that “an adventure is ANYTHING that helps you break out of your normal routine, challenges you a little bit, and pushes you to be, even momentarily, someone more than you are!” While I wasn’t braving a mountain, climbing on to a jetty, rock-climbing in Arizona or scaling a rock face, demanding that I get to watch an entire show, especially a Musical, is a huge challenge in my house. I scaled that terrain like a deer skipping through a stream and Loved every second of it. I reintroduced an old love back into my life and refuse to part with it again. And “When You Know the Notes to Sing, You Can Sing Most Anything”, or in my case I  Can DO Most Anything!!!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

