YOU have a blog?

Image 

I was telling my son tonight that i needed to use the computer, to update my blog site, to figure out how to add my “award” i had gotten in response to my Blog. “YOU have a blog?” he asked me. 

“I do” was my response, smiling…knowing he was trying to imagine how his uncool mother could possibly have a blog. 

He smiled and nodded with a quiet “HMMMM” under his breath…and then I got to thinking. Writing is deeply personal, and for years, both of my children have known that I love to write. They know that I have published pieces of literature, more informative than personal, but published just the same. They have seen the articles I have written in college, I’ve worked with them to write their own bits of literature and of course, helping them to create their early stage resume. I’ve celebrated their writing, letting them know how much I enjoy seeing their writing seem strong, seeing them succeed in literature and history…finally, a mother’s trait! Thank goodness…somewhere, i did something right! 

But I have never really shared My writing, from the heart anyway, with my boys. What does that mean? What am I afraid of? And so I have decided to let them each have a look. I wonder, is my information ok to share with them, will they take offense, will i have to edit or will they even bother to read what I’m thinking, feeling and writing. My goal here was to find my voice, to rediscover the woman who has been in hiding to suit the needs of my household. It’s a really bizarre feeling I’m having. But I must admit…I love that I’m still cool enough to catch my 17 yr old off guard!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “YOU have a blog?

  1. jackie February 18, 2014 at 9:25 PM Reply

    Lovely sharing, as a mom of one I really appreciate your journey.

    • A Maine Mama February 18, 2014 at 10:44 PM Reply

      Thank you… that was totally off the cuff. His response made me laugh though, it was too good not to write down. Good luck with your own kiddo… you and me are both cool, with or without teenage approval!!

    • A Maine Mama February 19, 2014 at 8:48 AM Reply

      It struck me so funny that I had to write it down…completely caught my son off guard! Thank you for reading and for your comment! 🙂

  2. warmginger February 19, 2014 at 1:41 AM Reply

    Oh my, my sons know I blog and I regularly have an eight-year-old reading over my shoulder pointing out that every second word is a swear one (I edit most of them out!). His interest is nothing to do with what I’m actually writing though – he just wants to know how long I’m going to be so that he can get on the computer and play Minecraft. He’s suitably scathing now so I dread to think what he’ll be like at 17. I really like that your son was at least smiling. There is nothing better than challenging a teenager’s preconceptions about the boring old adults in their lives! 🙂

    • A Maine Mama February 19, 2014 at 8:49 AM Reply

      My son was hovering, waiting to commandeer the computer back, to Skype and Facebook. It’s funny that your son reads over your shoulder though as I noticed mine hovering behind me for the first time last night.

  3. Sherri February 19, 2014 at 5:16 PM Reply

    When I started my blog last January I had no idea what it would become and what it would mean to me. I found my voice at last. My boys are older – 31 and 25, daughter 21 – and they have all been so supportive of my blog although I have wondered what they think of some of the more personal articles I’ve written. When I had my first article published last April and I heard the words ‘I’m so proud of you Mum’ come out of their mouths I felt for the first time in my life that I had done something right. Trust me, your son is proud of you and when he is ready he will tell you himself, of that I have no doubt! And I do so remember those ‘hovering’ days very well 😉

    • A Maine Mama February 19, 2014 at 6:30 PM Reply

      I love this…thank you so much!

      • Sherri February 20, 2014 at 6:07 AM

        You’re welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

