Moving up…

The more time I spend out here on WordPress, the more I find writers that I admire. Whether it’s a set of photographs, a well worded blog piece, choice of quotes, the latest review of a book being read, or just a voice that is so familiar it’s like hearing myself, I cannot tell you all how wonderful it is to have found you all. I know, we travel around the internet and blogsphere, randomly bumping into someone with whom we connect, and if we are lucky, get that connection back. I’m blessed to have found a few of those connections already, and am so glad that it was my writing and my voice that provided that pathway.

I read what everyone is writing, bounce around saying yes to some and not so much to others, but there is a standing respect I have for everyone out here, putting their ideas and hearts and passion and interest out on the line. Coming up we’ve endured rejections, red pens bleeding on our essays, a B for what felt like A work; then we enter the workplace, and our efforts that make the team flow are given a nod but not always the gold star we might hope for; and for me, my circle of “local” friends isn’t into writing and the arts as much as I have always been though they are amazing women and men who make my “local” world a joy to exist in. But here, in the WordPress world, you all are just amazing, so I’m taking a moment to recognize the dedication, willingness, bravery, courage, and love of writing you all possess and put out there on your blogs.

Awww, I’m not much of a sap (I’m lying as I cry during sad movies) but I know that finding one’s voice and a comfort level with it is a struggle for even the most seasoned writers. The small network of co-writers and co-dreamers I have found out here has encouraged a voice I felt would take much longer to rediscover. I post long and short passages, emotions, ideas, and random Mom thoughts…and no one says “Um, here’s what you could’ve done better” although constructive criticism is welcome (so long as you don’t tear me to shreds.) It’s daunting, writing…rewriting…editing…hoping the words connect with your audience, hoping a new audience member says hello…

But this is my Thank You, to each and every one of you…for who you are, for how you write, and for the sunshine & encouragement your words bring to my days!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Moving up…

  1. Sherri February 19, 2014 at 5:19 PM Reply

    Thank YOU MM. I’m so glad to have met you here on WP, I am really enjoying your blog and I look forward to sharing your blogging journey with you 🙂

  2. lesleycarter February 20, 2014 at 10:28 PM Reply

    Beautifully stated. I look forward to following along 🙂

  3. Deborah the Closet Monster February 21, 2014 at 9:15 AM Reply

    Yesterday brought a big surprise my way. Talking with my husband at the end of the day, I explained how blogging is the thing I do now to feel connected, and more than a maternal/employee completer of tasks. Unable to sleep much at the end of pregnancy, I am drawn to blogs. I don’t agree with everything I read, but like you, I am glad it is out there being written. It is heartening to be a part of . . .

    • A Maine Mama February 21, 2014 at 9:25 AM Reply

      Thank you for the reply. I agree that there is something soothing and therapeutic in writing. I don’t expect I am the next Fitzgerald, Hemingway, or Gertrude Stein! I do find though that it is a way indeed to step away from the norm, break out of my apartment in Maine, and just write whatever strikes me. Likewise, with my growing group of “regular” readers and online pals, it is comforting and familiar, local yet unconnected, where people listen and vocalize. it’s been a lovely experience. I look forward to hearing more from your voice as well…again, thank you for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

