Winter Wonderland!

While the title of this one is Winter Wonderland, the truth of the matter is that I’m Wondering just when it’s going to be over! Maine has been hit with storm after storm, one on top of the other. We’ve gotten about fifteen inches in just a few days time, and believe me, if I was watching the storm through my living room picture window I would find it’s silence and strength beautiful and wintery. However my office doesn’t close, EVER, and the storms are starting mid-day. We drive home in a sheet of whiteness and as of late, whiteout conditions. We’ve been fighting the Polar Vortex, I believe that is what it was called, and when that lifted, storms collided to create the perfect blizzard conditions. It’s on the news…on the radio…plaguing several parts of the nation with ice and snow. Sounds dramatic doesn’t it? It isn’t really, and despite the frustrations of digging out and waiting for the plow man to arrive each evening, mornings like today absolutely take my breath away. The sky is a crisp blue, the air is fresh and a little warmer in its blanket of snow, and even the non snow fans like myself cannot help but respect Mother Nature and her choice of crisp white decoration of our landscape.

Last night I could not fall asleep so I grabbed my camera in preparation for my drive across Rte. 91 which runs from South Berwick to York, and if you know the side roads, will also take one to Kittery. This is the road I take every day with my Best girl Jeanne, who also works in my office. Each day we admire the natural beauty of the drive, and I repeatedly say “Boy, I really wish I had my camera.” It’s a standing joke at this point, but today, I had my camera. With my arm hanging out the window for our 9 mile run across 91, I caught a handful of beautiful pictures. Likewise, we were finally able to stop on the little bridge for down river shots. It’s just a lovely ride to work. (I’m the passenger by the way as no one in their right mind, after these last few storms, would be driving one handed, even WITH four wheel drive.)

Because the snow has been sticky snow, it clings tenderly to the limbs of our trees, light and dark wood. The contrast this year has been wonderful. Even at work, we go out with our phones and try to capture the best images. My phone is a tad older than the other phones so I don’t often win our little inhouse challenge, but it’s fun just the same. When I came in today with my camera, the ladies were excited, and picking out images they want photos of, possibly including inhouse candids for an office collage. (I am NOT in charge of that project!) So I am anxious to give the camera a turn with each lady and see where her creativity takes her, what images she captures that my eye has missed. It should be interesting.

It really is beautiful though, the snow against the various colored wood and crisp blue sky. It’s the kind of morning that reminds you how a slate can be wiped clean, how a dark cold night can generate a stunning and colorful morning, how the weight of whatever can be lifted. My friend used to tell me “Everything is better after it snows.” He was a skier, so of course it was better for him. But it’s true. This morning, stunning in all its glory, found my mood lightened. I cannot wait to get home and post photos, add them to my growing collection of pictures, and maybe email a few to my mother in Florida. My mood improved dramatically during my ride, taking pictures on a sunny morning, blue skies, stunning visuals, and cruising along the route with my best friend. We laughed and joked, she couldn’t believe how many pictures I was taking. She asked me about the camera, how hard it is to operate, did I think she can still buy this model, and then on to “OH That was a good one Kath…i can’t believe we are driving 40 mph and your camera is just capturing image after image!”

All this excitement and enthusiasm generated simply by the Winter Wonderland and my camera. So, I’m thinking, after writing this piece, I don’t wonder when it will be over so much as I just wonder when it will be warmer. I wonder when the daffodils will poke their lazy heads through the snow and demand to be heard. I wonder when the robins will return. I wonder how long before 27 degrees becomes 72, which brings up a whole new series of photographs and breathtaking sunsets and beach photos. And I wonder, will I ever get over having my camera bag as my companion to capture image after image, story after story, storm after storm, sunset after sunset. I wonder if I will ever have enough shots of the Maine coast, rolling hills, marshy landscapes, crashing surf, snow blanketed fields, crisp fall leaves, and freshly sprung Spring flowers. I wonder will I ever feel as lost in anything as I feel when I’m writing and taking pictures…I wonder!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

