A Traveling I Need To Go…

Each day, one of my most exciting things to do is sit down and read the travel journals and blogs of folks traveling around. My eyes drink in the photos and my heart envelops the words…I reach across the vast web and visit along with those writers. I hear the waters, hear the birds, smell the flowers, taste the exotic foods, feel the warmth of a campfire, and laugh when what could have been a catastrophe becomes the perfect travel tale. I love that you share so much of yourself…wishing desperately that my tent or car or RV was parked right beside yours! And then I wonder first, how does one afford such an amazing expedition? How much will it cost to do this type of journey? Do the writers travel in cars, RV’s, on planes – a little bit of each? Do the writers and photographers camp out? Stay in hotels? Or, my perfect version, “camp” in an RV? Does each adventure have a theme or is it more of a fly by the seat of your pants approach? And again, how much? (I tend to ask to many questions, do too much planning and research…bear with me)

I could and would gladly pick up and go off on a wild travel adventure…I would love to visit the northwest coast of this country. I’ve seen the East Coast, traveled across the southern US through AL, TX, up into New Mexico. I’ve been to Vegas and California (Disneyland only) and lived in both Hawaii and Las Vegas. I’ve been across the US through Colorado (Aspen is just beautiful), through parts of the Rockie Mountains, Iowa, Illionois, Indiana, Ohio, New York and back country roads bringing me home to Maine. When I say it like that, I have been more places than I realized..but I didn’t actually spend time there, just drove through. The kiddos were little and my budget even smaller!

So I ask the travel writers and photographers out there…how does one plan for an adventure of this sort? I’m ready and willing, happy to save and make the most of it. I have various friends who would gladly make space for me on there couch for a night…I’m not a fan of tents, don’t intend to fly due to cost. Or maybe I bring a tent and face my fear…I just don’t want to cozy up to snakes…that’s why it freaks me out!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “A Traveling I Need To Go…

  1. Gunta April 1, 2014 at 11:29 PM Reply

    Here’s a shot of how I traveled back in the mid to late 70s. Me and the dog would drive from California (where I lived at the time) to Boston to visit family. I took a different route each time and made sure to stop at the National Parks along the way. Some nights I’d sleep in the tent, others I’d grab a motel. Gas was cheap and the VW didn’t use much.

    These days I’m a bit too old to be sleeping on the ground, so I stick to motels. I’ve also lived in a lot of different places across the country, so know Boston, San Francisco and the Sierras up near Lake Tahoe, northern Utah and the Oregon coast pretty well. Wish I had spent a bit more time exploring Maine when I had the chance.

  2. Gunta April 1, 2014 at 11:29 PM Reply

    Ooops, forgot the link I meant to include: http://wp.me/pXX8J-1sW

  3. A Maine Mama April 2, 2014 at 12:28 PM Reply

    Gunta i love the pictures and that you drove a VW!! thank you for sharing that input…i desperately need to reconnect with my creative side. Get back to what i love!!

Leave a Reply

