A decision has been made….

For a while now, I’ve been trying to find a voice, courage, inner strength, and a direction that will go the distance. I’ve spent years and months and weeks trying to be brave enough to admit to myself some deep dark secrets that somehow I have always known. One of those secrets is that above all else in this world, I love to write and to take pictures. Regardless of how sensible I was raised, how making dream type decisions has never been an option for me, it is with a glad heart and a light happy spirit that I have decided to return to school part time for now to study writing. While I would love to become the next great American author, I will settle for a program directed at gathering a focus and direction for my writing with the long range goal of being who I want and doing what I want.

The decision has been made to take a formal stand for my future, to complete the college education I began, and to continue a career and path I started down long ago. I’m not anywhere near where I need to be as a writer to turn a hobby into a career. I’m well aware of my own strengths and weaknesses as a writer and more importantly as a person…I understand how the interweaving of all that self awareness can make or break the decision I have made for myself. I worry but I am confident that I can do this, much the same way my fear of public writing in college lead me to front page and feature articles.

Ideally I would love to see myself as a column writer, long term combining my prolific columns into a novel of some sort…all that jazz like Carrie Bradshaw of Sex & the City or the Dear Sugar columns. And if not, then maybe a guest writer for a beach side magazine or newspaper or whatever. Regardless of the outcome, the decision has been made and my personal gauntlet has been thrown down at my own feet.

A friend of mine told me that one of my strongest qualities is that I never give up, that I still set goals for myself, and that I continue to dream and create new adventures for myself. That tribute alone to my character and determination and mindset seem a good base to begin from!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A decision has been made….

  1. Sherri August 21, 2014 at 7:49 AM Reply

    Bravo! I wish you all the very best, you’ve made the right decision 🙂

    • A Maine Mama August 21, 2014 at 8:22 AM Reply

      Thank you … let the homework assignments begin…lol

Leave a Reply

