Contrast…

I’ve slacked a bit in getting these assignments done, but decided that contrast is an easy topic for me. A little fun and yes, I admit, I’m cheating on this one!! There are two dimensions in which I have lived my life, the North and the South. Being a true Mainah, there are so many elements about Maine and New England that I truly love. However, having spent time in North Carolina, there are too many elements of that lifestyle that truly overpower the Mainah in this country gal. The only way to describe it is with pictures…two pictures, that is all it will take.

Picture 1 is taken at Carolina Beach, North Carolina, about three miles down the road from my cute little condo that sadly, I had to leave when my family refused to adjust and transition (yes, still a bitter pill that I choke on from time to time!)

nc beach bar

Picture 2 is taken in Berwick, Maine in my front yard after 1 snowstorm that was thirty two inches of the horrid white stuff! Mind you, I have grown up in cold weather but never, at any point in my life, have I been a fan of this cold weather! My family, ie boys, on the other hand love it and were in the throes of building a huge fort.

snow

The contrast is that my heart and soul love and need the warmth and energy that the sun brought to me on a daily basis. I was literally warmed to the core while taking leisurely strolls daily along the beach. I miss the south immensely but understand my family never feeling it could be considered home. At the same time, with snow abundant in our part of southern Maine, I would not trade a second of seeing my boys happy and active again, getting out of the house, rounding up the crew and building a snow fort or lighting a bonfire or heading to someone’s house for a pool party.

They say home is where the heart is, and when it is in two places at once, contrast is the perfect word I would use to explain it. As a mother, my heart loves the warmth and sunshine and crashing waves and year round lifestyle I was able to live in North Carolina…and at the same time, none of that is worth it if my boys are not right there with me! All the warmth and color in the world mean nothing without their laughter and smiles, hearing them whisper in brother code behind a closed door, or watching them walk out each morning and hearing them greet me. Contrast …  yup, this is mine!!!

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

