What I have learned…

In the throes of unclouding and uncluttering my brain, I ended up figuring out something. As much as I want to overlook and give little value to my cancering process, it sits before me like an elephant in the room. It has slowed my life down to a fairly uncomfortable pace which is difficult for me to process…the slowing down has made me think a bit less of myself as I am currently not working…and in an effort to keep my spirits vibrant and fresh and strong, I began to examine where I am at.

As my story mentioned, my perspective has become very clear. I know that I am not satisfied with my current position or status in life. For a long time I have settled, played the game and done the right thing. I’ve been a good girl, a good do-bee, a good worker. However, at this point in my life there has to be something more, something bigger … bigger than just getting along, bigger than overcoming the cancer, bigger than my self worth being determined by a ticking clock (I mean working 8 hours a day, not a life clock.)

I return repeatedly to the life coach field, how that might look for me, what steps I can take now while I’m burning time at home. It means reconnecting with society, overcoming my own insecurities to get out and talk with people, finding the right certification programs to validate my services and direction, and being able to effectively navigate questions that I will be asked or situations that could use my skills, background, knowledge, etc.

To me, this is a valid and much needed field. It can provide guidance and direction, set goals and see incremental steps become success, and provide an outside voice/perspective to get someone through.

There has to be more … whether it is working with cancer patients, coaching new patients, providing information, serving as a life coach or a cancering coach, writing about all this or just creating newsletters for local events and charities and facilities, volunteering as a writer and photographer, or my dream job of opening a bookstore there has to be more. I know…perspective and focus are strong but details still need to be ironed out.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “What I have learned…

  1. Send Sunshine March 5, 2015 at 10:07 PM Reply

    You have been through so much, your passion will serve you well and show you purpose! I have missed you so! ❀

    • A Maine Mama March 5, 2015 at 10:11 PM Reply

      Thank you! It’s not over yet but I know that there is more to all of this than just surviving! I’ve put up a fight and by God, it’s shown me a strength I never knew I had! I’ve missed you too! πŸ™‚

      • Send Sunshine March 5, 2015 at 10:12 PM

        Be well my friend! I am here sending you light!

      • A Maine Mama March 5, 2015 at 10:13 PM

        And I receive that light, like a sunflower turning her face to the sunshine!!

      • Send Sunshine March 5, 2015 at 10:18 PM

        Beautiful, You!

Leave a Reply

