Try again!

After committing to the lunchtime diaries I missed day two! Life threw me a curve, on an errand! I have thirty minutes every day to break, eat, rest, write, read…whatever I choose. However we can now have 45 minute lunches by giving up a break…and that is exactly what I did. Running five miles into Portsmouth by car sounds small unless it is summer during lunchtime with the tourists! What should have taken ten minutes took close to thirty and I needed every second of it! After reaching the bank, cashing then depositing my check, and running for the car I had fifteen minutes left to grab lunch, put gas in the car, and write…well, I did make it back from lunch on time but did not get to write.

 Here I am today however, having started my day off at 5AM. My son made it to work, I got my meds from Walmart, I applied for my car loan, scrubbed my sister’s kitchen with help from Jada, steam mopped the kitchen, have my second load of laundry washing, and it is only just after 1PM! And to keep the momentum, I even found time to write a little bit! Who would’ve thunk it! God bless days off!!

I did want to share my epiphany! Yesterday after running around like a crazy person, I mentioned my writing goal to my friend. Her response was “oh that’s good!” I followed with how happy I feel taking time to write, making time for me. I then asked why, since I/we coach people all day every day to follow their passion and dreams, do I constantly put my own dreams and passion aside? OH BOY…EPIPHANY MOMENT! If I   encourage fulfilling goals, dreams, pursuing passion then what am I doing not pursuing my own? If I want to write I need to write, a schedule allowing myself that freedom dont I? Im not saying quit my job but maybe build in me time…commit to myself and my goals the same way I exprct my students too.

Thats what my lunchtime diaries are about, making time for me and my writing. So two out of three days, not so bad…

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

